Buckeyes Name Six Captains for 2022 Season

Ohio State named its six 2022 captains on Saturday, led by Quarterback CJ Stroud.

Third-year quarterback C.J. Stroud is joined by Fifth-year senior wide receiver Kamryn Babb, fourth-year tight end Cade Stover, fourth-year linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, fifth-year defensive end Tyler Friday and third-year safety Kourt Williams.

Kamryn Babb, Cade Stover, Tyler Friday, Tommy Eichenberg and Kourt Williams were all named as Iron Buckeyes (along with third-year wide receiver Julian Fleming and fourth-year safety Ronnie Hickman) for their effort and performance during offseason workouts.

Along with being named captain, Kamryn Babb was selected to wear the Block “0” jersey this year for 2022, a tradition which Ohio State awards the Block “0” jersey each year to a player who demonstrates “toughness, accountability and the highest of character.” The tradition was started in honor of Bill Willis, and began in 2020, the first year the NCAA allowed to players to wear No. 0. Jonathon Cooper was the first recipient of the Block 0 jersey in 2020, while Thayer Munford received it last year.

Ohio State will kick off its season in 20 days on September 3rd against Notre Dame.

Photo Credit: Eleven Warriors

Leave a Reply